Greater Miami Jewish Federation Zachor Society
Holocaust Memorial Miami Beach Founders Norman Braman and Ezra Katz with Memorial Chair Andrew C. Hall (center)

Zachor Society Event Co-Chairs Javier and Andria Holtz and Greater Miami Jewish Federation Director of Philanthropic Initiatives Simon S. Kaminetsky

More than 130 of Miami’s most generous Jewish philanthropists recently gathered for the 6th Annual Zachor Society Reception in support of the Holocaust Memorial Miami Beach.

Chaired by Andria and Javier Holtz, the largest Zachor Society reception to date was held at Palm Court in Miami’s Design District. Norman Braman, Andrew C. Hall and Ezra Katz were Honorary Event Chairs.

Highlights of the evening included Holocaust Memorial Board Member Jessica Katz presenting Holocaust Memorial Chair Andrew Hall with the prestigious Telly Award in recognition of the film Survivors, which was created by the Memorial and is shown to student visitors. The Telly honors the best in television and cable, digital, streaming and non-broadcast productions. In addition, guests were moved as 13-year-old Gabriel Ades interviewed Holocaust survivor Alex Gross as part of the Young Lion of Judah program. A joint effort between the Jewish Volunteer Center of the Greater Miami Jewish Federation and the Holocaust Memorial, the program pairs B’nai Mitzvah students with local Holocaust survivors for an incredible learning experience along with community service hours.

The Zachor Society helps keep the memory of the Holocaust alive through its support of the Holocaust Memorial Miami Beach. The Society, whose name means “remember,” recognizes donors with an annual contribution of $5,000 or more. These contributions help the Memorial to educate more than 130,000 visitors to the Memorial, attend programs that confront genocide and inspire visitors for the future, all free of charge.

Founders of the Holocaust Memorial include Norman Braman, Dr. Helen Fagin, Selig Golen, Ezra Katz, David Schaecter, Rabbi Solomon Schiff, Harry B. Smith and Kenneth Treister, FAIA, along with Jack Chester, Abe Resnick and George Goldbloom, all of blessed memory.

The Holocaust Memorial Miami Beach is a Committee of the Greater Miami Jewish Federation. For more information about the Zachor Society and the Holocaust Memorial, please visit or call 305.538.1663.

Dr. Paul Pataky, Edith Osman, Alan Kluger and Federation Chair of the Board Amy N. Dean

Edie Laquer and Federation President and CEO Jacob Solomon

Holocaust Memorial Miami Beach Founder David Schaecter and Alex Gross

Jessica Katz presents Andrew C. Hall with the 37th Annual Telly Award

Federation Immediate Past Chair of the Board Robert Berrin, Jacob Solomon and Norman Braman

Nancy Lipoff, Irma Braman, Holocaust Memorial Miami Beach Founder Rabbi Solomon Schiff, Corey Feinsilver and Federation Women’s Philanthropy President Sheree Savar

Jason Katz, Ezra Katz, Jessica Katz, Tati Katz and Joseph Katz

In recognition of their contribution to the Memorial, Dorothy and Aaron Podhurst received a replica of the ARM created by Memorial founder Kenneth Treister, FAIA.

Richard Yulman and Claudia Potamkin

Scott and Michele Baena

Spencer Friedman and Michael Friedman

Howard Weinberg, Javier Holtz, Howard Chandler and Matthew Holtz

Shelley Niceley Groff and Jonathan Groff

Allan Hall, Lori Gold and Gail Meyers

Jacob and Lindsey Goldsmith and Ellen and Louis Wolfson

Javier Holtz, Andrew C. Hall and Dr. Mark Oren

Howard Weinberg, Ezra Katz and Carl Lender

Sergio Rok, Jimmy Tate and Fred Jove

David Resnick with Lidia and Jimmy Resnick

Flavia Ades, Alex Gross, Young Lion of Judah Gabriel Ades and Raphael Ades

Joan and Harry Smith, Holocaust Memorial Miami Beach Founder

Nadine and Sidney Pertnoy, Incoming Chair
of the Holocaust Memorial Miami Beach

Sari and Dr. Arthur Agatston

Daniel Lewis and Ezra Katz