8th Annual Women of Distinction & Caring Luncheon

2017 Women of Distinction & Caring, Diana Gonzalez, Emcee; Ilene Zweig, PHN Foundation Executive Director; Terri Shikany; Shelley Niceley Groff, Esq., BESSIE Award Recipient; Terry Buoniconti; Ana Veiga Milton; Dr. Grace Wang; Dorothy Jenkins Fields; Marile Lopez, accepting for Ileana Ros-Lehtinen; Ron S. Lowy, Esq., Plaza Health Network Board Chairman.

Plaza Health Network Foundation celebrated the Eighth Annual Women of Distinction & Caring luncheon honoring seven community leaders at the Hilton Miami Downtown. Guests were treated to a champagne reception upon arrival during which they were able to shop at various boutiques as well as purchase a mystery Sunburst Society Yellow box donated by Kendra Scott jewelry. A silent auction allowed attendees to bid on a variety of donated items such as trips, hotel stays, clothing, and art work.

Director of Communications at the City of Miami, Diana Gonzalez, a 2008 Honoree, welcomed guests joined by Ilene Zweig, Executive Director of Plaza Health Network Foundation along with Ron S. Lowy, Esq., Plaza Health Network Board Chair. Introduced with a moving video tribute that celebrated their leadership, volunteer service and philanthropy, the 2017 honorees were Terry Buoniconti, Community Leader, Philanthropist to The Buoniconti Fund to Cure Paralysis/The Miami Project; Dorothy JenkinsFields, Educator, Historian, Journalist and Founder of the Black Archives; Hon. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, First Hispanic Congresswoman, Prominent Educator, State of Florida Senator and Representative; Ana VeigaMilton, Past Chair, Zoo Miami, Jackson Foundation Board Member, President of Jose Milton Foundation and Philanthropist; Terri Shikany, Executive Vice President, Health Coalition, Inc., Women of Tomorrow Mentor; Grace Wang, MD, Oncologist and Breast Cancer Advocate, Baptist Health Miami Cancer Institute; 2017 BESSIE Award Recipient, Shelley Niceley Groff, Esq., Jewish Community Leader, Past Chair Jewish Community Relations Council of the Greater Miami Jewish Federation. Proceeds from the luncheon support Plaza Health Network patient focused innovative programs and services that go above and beyond the basics covered by Medicare, Medicaid and other insurances.

Abraham Galbut, Marisa Galbut, Russell Galbut

Sunburst Society Members Jeannette Fruhman, Norma Jean Abraham 2011 & Trish Bell 2015 Women of Distinction & Caring Honorees

Michele Ryder, COO, Miami Cancer Institute at Baptist Health, Pam Garrison, 2016 Woman of Distinction & Caring with Dan Bell

Terry Buoniconti, Gina Bruce, Cynthia Buoniconti and
Marc Buoniconti

Robin Jacobs, 2016 BESSIE Award Recipient, and
Dr. Baruch Jacobs

Bea Hines, Elliot and Lois Hess, with Anne Bloom

Dan Jacobson, Esq. and Cyndy Albert

Aida Levitan, 2016 Woman of Distinction & Caring, Merline Barton, & Hilda Alvarez Weisz

Daniel and Jillian Galbut with Oscar Llorente

Shirlee Fernandez and Myriam Cambronne

Murray Rubin, Hon. Harvey Ruvin, Miami-Dade County Clerk;
Judge Linda Singer Stein; Bob Moschell, Esq.

Rhonda Rebman-Lopez, Linda Mackey, Counselette General of Bahamas; Dorothy Jenkins Fields and Sandra Carey

Jennifer Boin Getz and Carmen Betancourt-Lewis

Anne Bloom, Helene Berger, David Bloom

Mentor Nancy Schwartz with next generation Ariel Suazo-Maler, Gregg Ormond,
Kristyn Schwartz, Plaza Health Network Development Assistant, Lauren Davidson

Trish & Dan Bell with Debbie Benitez

Brian Weinstein, Rachel Schuster, and
Barbara Yanez-Artiles

Robin Jacobs & Ron Lowy, Esq., 2016 BESSIE Award Recipient, presenting the 2017 BESSIE Award to Shelley Niceley Groff, Esq. (center)

Dr. Grace Wang and Dr. Steven S. Pabalan

Standing: Deborah Davidson, Lee Damus, Rene Beal, Kristyn Schwartz
Seated: Lise-Marie Wertanzl, Graham Fandrei, Lisa Coots, Camilla Zeleya

Plaza Health Network Administrators Zev Shemish, Barbara Yanez-Artiles,
Rachel Schuster, Sacasha Brown, & Barry Preter

Marilyn Cale’s Jewelry Boutique

Terry Buoniconti and Chris Pederson

Christi Martell, Alice Fisher, and Norma Jean Abraham

Tom Nichols and Gracy Weberman

Bea Hines, 2016 Woman of Distinction & Caring, Dorothy Jenkins Fields, and guests

Ana Veiga Milton, Monica Veiga, and guest

Shelley Niceley Groff, Esq., and Johnathan Groff, Esq.

Suzy Buckley from SHAPOH, one of the boutiques

ECCOLAB Group Team

Representatives from Bloomingdales at the Falls Fari, Millie, & Erin

Sarah Pana, RN and Nick Pana, RN