30th Annual National Philanthropy Day Luncheon
Honorees Dr. & Mrs. Herbert Wertheim

Honorees Paul & Swanee DiMare

Some of Miami’s most cherished, influential and longtime names in philanthropy came together to be honored November 12 at Jungle Island for AFP’s National Philanthropy Day (NPD) luncheon presented by Florida International University.

The 2015 honorees (listed below) were distinctive not only for their individual accomplishments, but for what their contributions have meant to our beloved community over 30 years. The group included individuals and organizations selected because of the deep impact of their philanthropic work, volunteer leadership, and commitment to making Miami the city that it is today.

  • Dr. and Mrs. Herbert Wertheim, Outstanding Philanthropists
  • Mike Eidson and Ann Machado, James W. McLamore Outstanding Volunteer Award
  • Paul & Swanee DiMare, Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Alberto Ibarguen, Knight Foundation, Champion of Philanthropy
  • Miami Marlins, The Greater Miami Chamber of Commerce Julia Tuttle Award for Community Involvement and Corporate Citizenship
  • United Way of Miami-Dade County, Outstanding Grantmaker Award

    This year marked AFP’s 30th Anniversary of the luncheon, and the theme reflected Miami’s rich philanthropic heritage and unprecedented cultural growth. The program featured a special video flash-back with excerpts from the honorees, and historians Dr. Paul George and Arva Moore Park, describing significant Miami milestones made possible through philanthropy, as well as a flash-forward to what the future of Miami holds. Most touching were the remarks from the honorees upon accepting their awards, who all in their own way reflected with pride how much Miami has grown in the last 30 years into a world-class city.

    NPD Co-Chair and incoming AFP Miami President Barbara Norland noted “We are so honored to present this group of outstanding philanthropists to represent Miami’s young past, and bold future. We appreciate the efforts of our all our members, supporters, especially presenting sponsor, Florida International University, but most importantly all attendees and our esteemed honorees who came together to celebrate the true essence of philanthropy, each demonstrating their willingness to help, teach, give inspire, encourage, empower, promote and lead others which tremendously impacts Miami-dade County.

    To view more event photos, videos, or for more information on AFP, visit afpmiami.org or facebook.com/afpmiami.

  • 2015 NPD Honorees

    Honorees Harve Mogul, United Way, and Ann Machado

    Javier Soto, Miami Foundation President & CEO; Christine Barney, GMCC Board Chair; Honoree David Samson, Miami Marlins; Rhea Brown, Macy’s; and Richard Lehrman, President AFP Miami

    John Richards, CEO Adrienne Arsht Center, with Honoree Mike & Dr. Margaret Eidson

    NPD Co-Chair Amy Powers, AFP President Richard Lehrman, Honoree Alberto Ibarguen, and NPD Co-Chair Barbara Norland

    Award Presentation to Harve Mogul, United Way of Miami-Dade: Richard Lehrman, Jess Lawthorn, Maria Alonso, Lydia Muniz, Harve Mogul and Barbara Norland

    Award Presentation to Swanee & Paul DiMare

    NPD Co-Chairs Amy Powers, Jupiter Medical Center, and Barbara K. Norland, YWCA of Greater Miami-Dade

    AFP Joyce Gayla Scholarship Recipient Chad Bernstein of Guitars Over Guns

    Alex Villoch, Editor & CEO Miami Herald; Dania Gorriz, United Way; with United Way Board Members Jess Lawthorn, Jr. and Maria Alonso

    Mary Donworth, Harve Mogul, United Way, and Lydia Muniz, BBBS

    Debi Hoffman, Ruth Shack, Julie Bindbuetal, AFP Board Member

    FIU Team and Friends with The Wertheims

    Dr. Herbert Wertheim and Dr. Ora Stickland

    Dr. Ora Stickland, Dr. & Mrs. Herbert Wertheim, Dr. Mark Rosenberg, Dr. Ranu Jung

    Honoree Paul DiMare and Gillian Thomas, CEO Miami Science Museum

    Christine Machado Risso with Honoree Ann Machado

    Trish & Dan Bell

    University of Miami table: Philanthropist Joanne Dauer, Pam Garrison UM table honoree, Sergio Gonzalez, SVP University of Miami, and Jayne Abess

    Barry University President, Sister Linda Bevilacqua, with table honorees, The Moore Family and The Garner Foundation

    Bonnie Greer, Eileen Maloney-Simon, CEO YWCA of Greater Miami-Dade, with Karen Gilmore

    AFP Miami Board of Directors

    Dacia Steiner and Jill Braufman

    AFP Board of Directors Sallie Byrd, Ilene Zweig and Rhea Brown, Macy’s

    AFP Board Members David Skipp, Thomas Schramm and James Echols