Miami Jewish Health Systems Annual FOUNDERS Gala
MJHS honors Arlyn and Stephen H. Cypen
Honorees Stephen H. & Arlyn Cypen with grandchildren Ben Kaplan and Lila Diamond

Miami Jewish Health Systems Vice Chairman of the Board Jay & Ellen Solowsky and Board Member Dr. Robert Goldszer

Miami Jewish Health Systems® hosted an elegant evening of dining, dancing and celebration for almost 200 very special guests during its Annual FOUNDERS Gala at Turnberry Isle Miami. Arlyn and Stephen H. Cypen were recognized for their years of commitment and service to the organization in addition to the entire community. Stephen just completed a ten-year term as board chairman and they both are still very involved in a myriad of ways with the organization.

The Gala was co chaired by FOUNDERS President and Foundation Vice Chair Jane Kahn Jacobs, along with FOUNDERS Past Presidents Aida Politano, Hon. A. Jay Cristol and Wayne Cypen. Hazel Cypen and Isabel May served as Honorary Chairs. Thanks to these outstanding leaders and the generosity of the FOUNDERS, Miami Jewish Health Systems has remained true to its mission of providing high quality healthcare to generations of South Floridians.

Chairman of the Board Alfred J. Katzin announced that the Ruby Auditorium on our Douglas Gardens campus will undergo a much-needed renovation beginning next month, in honor of Arlyn and Stephen. Mr. Katzin, along with board members Ronald Fieldstone, Samuel Harte, Jane Kahn Jacobs, Hiram Marrero on behalf of the Willis Group, Bob Schwartz on behalf of Wells Fargo Advisors, Jay Solowsky, Arthur Unger, and Foundation Chair Louis Wolfson are spearheading this project. Wayne Cypen also presented the honorees with a mosaic of love from our “Home” to be hung with pride in their “Home”.

Additionally, FOUNDERS President Jane Kahn Jacobs announced that FOUNDERS Immediate Past President Aida Politano had achieved the Humanitarian level of FOUNDERS and received a Murano glass sapphire heart, while Ethel Blum, Gala Honoree in 2008, had attained the Grand FOUNDER level and received an amethyst heart. Additionally 21 other FOUNDERS were presented with amber hearts.

Miami Jewish Health Systems FOUNDERS organization consists of individuals, foundations and corporations that have donated or pledged at least $50,000 to the Miami Jewish Health Systems Foundation. President and Chief Executive Officer Jeffrey P. Freimark affirmed that Miami Jewish Health Systems attributes much of its success to the generosity of these donors, and commends the FOUNDERS for their passion and continued support.

Standing: Miami Jewish Health Systems Vice Chair of the Board Jay Solowsky, Nancy & Miami Jewish Health Systems Chairman of the Board Alfred J. Katzin, Board Member M. John & Dr. Lynne Richard and Board Member Arthur Unger. Seated: Ellen Solowsky, Hollis & Miami Jewish Health Systems President and CEO Jeffrey P. Freimark and Laine Unger

FOUNDERS President, Vice Chair of the Miami Jewish Health Systems Foundation and Gala Co-Chair Jane Kahn Jacobs, Dr. Marc Agronin, FOUNDERS Immediate Past President Aida Politano, NOTABLES President Abby Schaefer, Honoree Stephen H. Cypen, Sookey & Miami Jewish Health Systems Foundation Board Member Robert Schwartz and Hildine Potashnick

Michael & Alexa Lazarus, Carole Landa, Alexa Rossy, Honoree Stephen H. Cypen, Barbara Sugerman and Honoree Arlyn Cypen

Honoree Arlyn Cypen, Honorary Chair Hazel Cypen, and Honoree Stephen H. Cypen

Roni & Ira Elegant with Honoree Arlyn Cypen

Standing above: Leslie Diamond, Honoree Arlyn Cypen, Jennifer Kaplan and Honoree Stephen H. Cypen. Standing below: Lila Diamond, Ben Kaplan and Annabel Kaplan

Dr. Marc Agronin and Gala Emcee Michele Gillen

Doug and FOUNDERS President Jane Kahn Jacobs

FOUNDERS Immediate Past President Aida Politano receives her sapphire heart

Ethel Blum and Bernice Sigman

Jackie Chaves, Alexa Rossy and Alexa Lazarus

Nancy Frehling, Gail Gidney, Robert Frehling and Honoree Stephen H. Cypen

Gene Glasser, Nathan Diamond, and Ira Leesfield

Yhindra & Miami Jewish Health Systems Foundation Board Member Hiram Marrero with President and CEO Jeffrey P. Freimark

Miami Jewish Health Systems Immediate Past President Harold Beck and Bonnie & Stanley Beck

Gail Gidney, Howard & Fran Shapiro, Sara and Dr. Charles Bedzow

Dr. Sara Czaja and James Herron

Christine Bucan and Annmarie Drozd

Kathy Friedmann with Miami Jewish Health Systems Board Member Arthur Unger

Corey & Rose Breier with Pearl & Sonny Levitt

Gene Glasser, Honoree Stephen H. Cypen and Richard Kronenberg

Standing: Jeremy Cypen, Sanja Galeb, Myrna & Stephen Kaplan, Nathan & Lauren Diamond. Seated: Nicole & FOUNDERS President Emeritus and Gala Co-Chair Wayne Cypen, Bonnie Cypen-Epstein and Tad Cypen

Dr. Sara Czaja, Melinda Loeb and Judi Male

Honorable Steven Gombinski & Yvette Costas

Doris & Marty Miller

Seymour Bodner & Hilda Kane

Elinore Aronovitz and Tod & Jodi Aronovitz

Robin Hechler, Lorraine Greenberg and Pam Michaels