2018 Miami Dade College Alumni Hall of Fame Awards Ceremony
Bernie Navarro, Dr. Eduardo J. Padrón and Frank Carollo

Miami Dade College Foundation raised more than $2 million for the second year in a row at its sold out 2018 Alumni Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on Tuesday, April 3, also breaking records for highest sponsorship and attendance. The funds raised will be used for scholarships for current and future Miami Dade College students.

MDC’s President Dr. Eduardo J. Padrón announced the record-breaking results during Tuesday night’s ceremony at the Hilton Miami Downtown. More than 1,000 guests attended the event and 109 individuals and organizations from the community were sponsors, including one of the College’s greatest benefactors The Mitchell Wolfson Sr. Foundation. Other top sponsors include OHL-Arellano, City National Bank, Lennar Foundation, Leon Medical Centers, and Norwegian Cruise Line Holdings Ltd. The full sponsor list and additional information can be found at www.mdc.edu/halloffame.

The MDC Alumni Hall of Fame is MDC Foundation’s largest annual fundraiser, which also celebrates the accomplishments of distinguished alumni who are impacting their field and the community. The 2018 inductee class is no exception, with esteemed leaders that that span a variety of industries, from music and broadcasting to banking and public safety. To date, more than 350 alumni have been inducted.

Penny Shaffer speaking

MDC Hall of Fame Inductees with awards

Maryam Borrego, Eddie Borrego and Victoria Hernandez

Guests take selfie with Harry Wayne Casey, a.k.a. KC, from KC & The Sunshine Band

2018 Inductees with awards on stage

Julie Grimes, Dr. Eduardo Padrón, Al Salas, Penny Shaffer and guests

Michael Conception Speaking

Dr. Lenore Rodicio, Jose Fuentes and guests

Dr. Eduardo Padrón and past inductee Rosa de la Camara

2018 Inductee Peter Antonacci and Finn

Michidael Ceard Speaking

2017 Inductee Dr. Judith Migoya, friends and family

2018 Inductee Madeline Pumariega, friends and family

Alex de Armas, Demetri Mouratis and Belkys Nerey

2018 MDC Alumni Hall of Fame Inductees on stage

2018 Inductee Madeline Pumariega and guests

Rachel Marolf, Alexandra Rodriguez and Claudia Blandino

Dr. Eduardo Padrón, 2018 Inductee Luis Diaz and guests

14 Alumni Inducted into the 2018 MDC Hall of Fame

Romi Bhatia, John Wensveen, Pascale Charlot, Damian Thorman and René Hagen

2017 Inductee Raquel "Rocky" Egusquiza speaking

Mikhail Scott, Rocky Egusquiza and Carlos Orta

More than 1,000 people attended the MDC Alumni Hall of Fame, breaking records for attendance

MDC students and Finn the Shark

Guests of 2018 Inductee Michelle Martinez Reyes

Dr. Jeanne Jacobs, Keionist Felder, Marie Louissaint, Beatrice Louissaint and Dr. Eduardo Padrón

Dr. Lenore Rodicio and guests

2018 Inductees Michelle Martinez Reyes, Marilyn Blanco-Reyes and Dr. Samantha Carella

Barrington Foster and Donovan Terrelong

Bernie Navarro, 2018 Inductee Luis Machado, Jose Fuentes, George Andrews and guest

2018 Inductee Dr. Geden Franck and guest

2018 Inductees Michelle Martinez Reyes and Dr. Samantha Carella

Luis Machado and Jose Fuentes

Liane Ventura, Keionest Felder, Jose Fuentes and Penny Shaffer

2018 Inductees Ignacio Ares, Luis Diaz and Jorge Colina

Connie Oropesa, Elaine Cuevas, Glenda Garrido and
Yami Abecassis