More than 450 Philanthropists Attend
Greater Miami Jewish Federation 2011 Pacesetter Event
Keynote speaker Dr. Charles Krauthammer (center) with
Event Co-Chairs Arthur and Sari Agatston

Michael M. Adler, a Federation Past President; and
Federation Chair of the Board Barbara Black Goldfarb

The Greater Miami Jewish Federation Pacesetter Event is an annual gala where hundreds of Miami’s most dedicated philanthropists come together to provide critical and substantial support for Jewish people in need in Miami, in Israel and in more than 70 other countries throughout the world.

This year’s event, chaired by Sari and Arthur Agatston and Sara and Joseph Kavana and held at the Fontainebleau Miami Beach, featured a keynote speech by the Pulitzer Prize-winning Washington Post columnist Dr. Charles Krauthammer, who discussed current events in Israel and Iran.

More than 450 people gathered at the Pacesetter Event, collectively pledging over $6.1 million in gifts to the 2012 Federation/UJA Campaign. The Annual Campaign provides funding to 110 social-service, humanitarian and educational agencies and programs at home and overseas. This event also recognized members of our community who have created permanent endowments through The Foundation of the Greater Miami Jewish Federation.

Federation gratefully acknowledges its Proud Business Partners for their financial support of the Pacesetter Event. Platinum sponsors: Bilzin Sumberg Attorneys at Law, The Collection®, Greenberg Traurig, and Wells Fargo. Gold sponsors: Akerman Senterfitt, Kent Security Services, The Miami Herald and Sabadell United Bank. Silver sponsors: Frank Crystal & Company and Meland Russin & Budwick P.A. Bronze sponsors: Carlton Fields Attorneys at Law, Goldstein Schechter Koch, Kaufman Rossin & Co., and Marcum Accountants and Advisors. Pearl Sponsors: Higer Lichter & Givner and Podhurst Orseck.

To learn more about the Greater Miami Jewish Federation, please visit or call 305.576.4000.

Event Co-Chairs Sara and Joseph Kavana and Sari Agatston

Jeffrey Berkowitz; Federation President and CEO Jacob Solomon and General Campaign Chair Brian L. Bilzin

Arthur Agatston, Isaac K. Fisher and Leonard Abess

Norman Braman, a Federation Past President;
Irma and Michael Goldstein; and Irma Braman

Laura Koffsky, Mark Kravitz and Barbara Black Goldfarb

Dr. Charles Krauthammer and Naomi Wilzig

Matan and Michelle Ben-Aviv and Steven J. Brodie

John Bussel and Laura Alonso-Gallo

Paul Kruss; Jonathan Awner; Shirley Lehman and
William Lehman, Federation Immediate Past Board Chair

Andrew Hall; Norman Lipoff, a Federation Past President; and Harold Gaffin

Robert and Jill Hertzberg, David Efron and Sari Agatston

Michael Bander; Saby Behar, a Federation Past President; Rosi Behar and Jo Anne Bander

David and Lily Serviansky, and Dror and Miriam Zadok

Dr. Mark Rosenberg; Ezra Katz, a Federation Past President; and Leonard Wien

David Scharlin and Jeffrey Scheck

Aaron Podhurst, a Federation Past President; Laura Koffsky and Richard Yulman

Alan and Diane Lieberman

Michelle and Robert Diener

William and Amy Wildstein

Marsha Bilzin, Richard Fain and Tati Katz

Rhoda Bernstein, Marcia and Lawrence Schantz, and
Morton and Linda Kaplan

Jeffrey Berkowitz; Judy Lefton and Donald Lefton, a
Federation Past President

Gloria Scharlin, Judy Weiser and Lois Siegel

David Efron, Miami-Dade County State Attorney
Katherine Fernandez Rundle and Isaac K. Fisher

Isaac and Nieves Olemberg

Dorothy Podhurst; Irma Braman; David Scharlin;
Gloria Scharlin and Nedra Oren, a Federation Past President

James Neff, Dr. Charles Krauthammer and Carmit Neff

Michael M. Adler and Leonard Miller

Rebecca Kriger, David Schaecter and Hedy Whitebook

Isaac Zelcer, a Federation Past President; and Loly Zelcer

Monroe and Judith Milstein

Roberto and Dr. Betty Horwitz

Rochelle Malek, Ronalee Galbut and
Mojdeh and Robert Danial

Daniel Zelonker, Robert Berrin and Frank Kessler