Greater Miami Jewish Federation 2013 Pacesetter Event
The Pacesetter Event Co-Chairs Ariel & Daphna Bentata and Pam & Howard Wolofsky

Shelly Brodie, Federation Chair of the Board Brian L. Bilzin, Marsha Bilzin and Fran Berrin

More than 530 of Miami’s most committed Jewish philanthropists came together for the Greater Miami Jewish Federation 2013 Pacesetter Event at the Hilton Miami Downtown.

The Pacesetter Event was co-chaired by Daphna and Ariel Bentata and Pam and Howard Wolofsky. The evening featured remarks from a number of community leaders, including Federation Board Chair Brain L. Bilzin and Federation General Campaign Chair Robert G. Berrin. Both spoke movingly about the important work accomplished by the Annual Campaign – in Miami and around the world. Pacesetters were treated to a surprise performance by The J’s Cultural Arts Theater Program (J-CAT) of the Michael-Ann Russell Jewish Community Center, a Federation partner agency. J-CAT performed a medley of tunes from the classic musical, “Fiddler on the Roof.”

Headlining the Pacesetter Event was keynote speaker The Honorable Ehud Barak, former Prime Minister of Israel. Following a distinguished career in the Israel Defense Forces where he was the most decorated soldier in Israeli history, Mr. Barak entered politics and served Israel in several capacities, including as Prime Minister and Minister of Defense.

In response to these emotional presentations, Pacesetter Event attendees collectively pledged $3.5 million in gifts to the Federation/UJA Campaign. The Annual Campaign provides funding to 106 social-service, humanitarian and educational agencies and programs at home and overseas. This event also recognized members of Miami’s Jewish community who have created legacies through The Foundation of the Greater Miami Jewish Federation and the Create a Jewish Legacy initiative.

Federation gratefully acknowledges its Proud Business Partners for their financial support of the Pacesetter Event. Platinum sponsors: Bilzin Sumberg Attorneys at Law, The Collection, Greenberg Traurig, and Wells Fargo. Gold sponsors: Akerman Senterfitt, Berkowitz Pollack Brant, City National Bank, Kent Security Services, The Miami Herald, Sabadell United Bank, Sapoznik Insurance & Associates, Inc., South Florida Legal Guide and Stearns Weaver Miller Weissler Alhadeff & Sitterson, P.A. Silver sponsors: Crystal & Company and Meland Russin & Budwick P.A. Bronze sponsors: Carlton Fields Attorneys at Law, Higer Lichter & Givner and Kaufman Rossin & Company, P.A., CPAs. Pearl Sponsors: BNY Mellon Wealth Management, NFP The Meltzer Group and Podhurst Orseck, P.A.

To learn more about the Greater Miami Jewish Federation, please visit or call 305.576.4000.

Alan Kluger, Major Gifts Chair Amy N. Dean and The Honorable Ehud Barak, Former Prime Minister of Israel

Federation Past President Norman Braman and Federation President and CEO Jacob Solomon

Oscar and Elena Feldenkreis

Federation Past President Aaron Podhurst and George Feldenkreis

Federation Past President Isaac Zelcer and Loly Zelcer

Federation Past President Norman Lipoff and Nancy Lipoff and Ehud Barak

Jerry and Allison Sokol and Ehud Barak

Women’s Philanthropy Campaign Chair Sheree Savar and Ehud Barak

Federation General Campaign Chair Robert G. Berrin and Susan & Jon Diamond

Gil Bonwitt, Jorge & Tammy Woldenberg and Elise Scheck Bonwitt

Dorothy Podhurst and Laura Koffsky

Federation Immediate Past Board Chair Barbara Black Goldfarb and Federation Chair of the Board Brian L. Bilzin

Clarita Kassin and Alex Halberstein

Chair of The Foundation John Bussel and Ann Bussel

Federation Past Board Chair William and Shirley Lehman

John Sumberg, Michael Katz and Charles Stuzin

Lily and David Serviansky

Israel and Tania Lapciuc

Steven, Jeffrey and Adrienne Scheck

Laurie Reimer, Leonard Miller and Melvyn Drucker

Carolyn and Barry Baumel

Rosi Behar, Federation Past President Saby Behar and Joel Behar

Lourdes Suarez, Mytyl Simancas-Bister and Linda Schechter

Matthew & Amanda Adler and Judy & Federation Past President Michael Adler

Steven Brodie, Jonathan Awner and Isaac Fisher

Federation Past President Steven Kravitz and Mark Kravitz