Greater Miami Jewish Federation 2015 Pacesetter Event
Pacesetter Event Chairs David & Sara Bejar and Jill & Robert Hertzberg

Federation General Campaign Chair
Amy N. Dean and Federation Board Chair Robert G. Berrin

Hundreds of Miami’s most committed Jewish philanthropists came together on Thursday, December 11 for the Greater Miami Jewish Federation 2015 Pacesetter Event at the Hilton Miami Downtown.

The Pacesetter Event was co-chaired by Sara and David Bejar and Jill and Robert Hertzberg. The evening featured remarks from a number of community leaders, including Federation Board Chair Robert G. Berrin and General Campaign Chair Amy N. Dean. Both spoke movingly about the important work accomplished by the Annual Federation/UJA Campaign – in Miami, in Israel and around the world. Pacesetters were treated to an emotional performance by spoken word poet, Andrew Lustig, who recited a powerful message about the Jewish people throughout generations titled, “Tell Me A Story.”

Headlining The Pacesetter Event was keynote speaker The Honorable Michael Oren, former Israeli Ambassador to the United States, serving from 2009 to 2013. He currently holds the Abba Eban Chair in International Diplomacy at the Interdisciplinary Center in Herzliya, and is Ambassador-in-Residence at the Atlantic Council.

The Pacesetter Event attendees collectively pledged nearly $3.5 million in gifts to the Annual Federation/UJA Campaign. The Annual Federation Campaign provides funding to more than 100 social-service, humanitarian and educational agencies and programs at home, in Israel, and in more than 70 other countries. This event also recognized members of Miami’s Jewish community who have created legacies through The Foundation of the Greater Miami Jewish Federation and the Create a Jewish Legacy initiative.

Federation gratefully acknowledges its Proud Business Partners for their financial support of the Pacesetter Event. Platinum sponsors: Bilzin Sumberg Attorneys at Law, The Collection, Greenberg Traurig, and Wells Fargo. Gold sponsors: Akerman Senterfitt, Berkowitz Pollack Brant, City National Bank, Crystal & Company, Kent Security Services, The Miami Herald, Sabadell United Bank, Sapoznik Insurance & Associates, Inc., South Florida Legal Guide and Stearns Weaver Miller Weissler Alhadeff & Sitterson, P.A. Silver sponsor: Meland Russin & Budwick, P.A., Bronze sponsors: Carlton Fields & Jorden Burt Attorneys at Law, Higer Lichter & Givner, Kaufman Rossin & Company, P.A., CPAs, and NFP The Meltzer Group. Pearl Sponsors: PNC Bank and Podhurst Orseck, P.A.

To learn more about the Greater Miami Jewish Federation, please visit or call 305.576.4000.

Federation Immediate Past Board Chair Brian L. Bilzin, Ambassador Michael Oren and Marsha Bilzin

Shoshanna Wagner, Evan Colton, Scott Wagner and Jerri Bassuk

Lily & Ariel Furst

Ambassador Michael Oren, Lourdes Suarez and Isaac K. Fisher

Mojdeh & Robert Danial

Daniel & Florence Halberstein and Jessica & Jorge Linkewer

Michael Scheck, a Federation Past President, Ambassador Michael Oren and Raquel Scheck

Matthew & Amanda Adler, Matan & Michelle Ben-Aviv
and Jacob Russo & Shana Lewinger Russo

Alberto & Rossana Franco

Dr. Baruch & Robin Jacobs

Ariel Bentata, David Bejar, Daphna Bentata, Sara Bejar, Isaac & Tania Murciano and Women's Philanthropy President Elise Bonwitt & Gil Bonwitt

Ambassador Michael Oren; Michael M. Adler, a Federation Past President and Matthew L. Adler

Oscar & Ellen Feldenkreis, Isaac Zelcer, a Federation Past President, and Loly Zelcer

Evelyn Katz and Michael Tabacinic

Dr. Melvyn & Terry Drucker, Dorothy Podhurst, Laura Koffsky and Aaron Podhurst, a Federation Past President

Patricia & Isaac Almosny, Jacob & Ori Serfati and Ivette & Joseph Woldenberg

George Feldenkreis and Ezra Katz, a Federation Past President

Maxine E. Schwartz and Dr. Joel & Adele Sandberg

Ambassador Michael Oren and Robert & Michelle Diener

Irma & Michael Goldstein and Norma Kipnis Wilson

Florence & Sheldon Anderson and Nedra Oren, a Federation Past President

Charles & Rosalyn Stuzin

Andrew C. Hall, Aaron Podhurst, a Federation Past President; and Robert Zarco

Jeffrey & Debra Wechsler

David & Sara Bejar, Elisabeth Frank and Colleen & Richard Fain

Michael Friedman, Ray Ellen Yarkin and Carolynn Friedman

Ari & Ann Deshe and Judith & Monroe Milstein

Linda Schechter, Mytyl Simancas-Bister and Women's Philanthropy Campaign Chair Sheree Savar

John Sumberg, Richard Yulman, Jerri Bassuk and
Robert Hertzberg

Seth Nachman & Jill Eber, Robert & Jill Hertzberg, Selma Newman, Brian L. Bilzin and George Lindemann

Jared & Michelle Goldberg