26th Annual Gala in the Garden
Benefiting Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden
Swanee and Paul DiMare

More than 400 guests attended the Annual Gala in the Garden at Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden. The event was co-chaired by Swanee DiMare and Frances Sevilla-Sacasa with Joyce Burns serving as Philanthropic Chair. Proceeds supported Fairchild’s programs in conservation science, education, and horticulture.

The evening commenced with a cocktail reception and beautiful silent auction in the Adam R. Rose and Peter R. McQuillan Arts Center. Featured items included luxury vacations, fine jewelry, and designer accessories.

Guests then moved to the Lakeside Marquee, and were awestruck by the stunning decor. The venue was bathed in celestial globes of gold, silver and sparkling white, while vines of orchids dangled from the ceiling. The Garden Galaxy theme was in celebration of Fairchild’s 80th Anniversary, recognizing their partnership with NASA. The décor featured a sustainable and creative way to look to the future of the Garden.

Board of Trustees President Bruce Greer welcomed guests and thanked this year’s Royal Palm Sponsors: Paul and Swanee DiMare, Tony and Joyce Burns, Lou and Mary Jean Risi, Bunny and Raphael Bastian, Kenneth O’Keefe and Jason Stephens, and Royal Caribbean Cruises Ltd. Mary Jean and Lou Risi were also given a special honor for their longstanding support of the Garden.

Le Basque served a gourmet meal consisting of seafood salpicon, filet mignon, and a chocolate galaxy “black hole”. After dinner, everyone packed the dance floor enjoying the pop tunes of the Danny Beck Band. Upon departure, guests received beautiful orchid plants to take home.

Eugene and Frances Sevilla-Sacasa

Tony and Joyce Burns

Gala in the Garden Committee 2019

Nannette Zapata, Bruce Greer, Commissioner Sally A. Heyman
and Carl Lewis

Darlene & Jorge M. Perez

Ariel Penzer Milgroom, Bronwyn Miller, Jennifer Montoya,
Danielle Gonzalez, Sarah Egan and guest

Mike and Margaret Eidson

Nancy and Jon Batchelor

Bronwyn Miller, Swanee DiMare, Marile Lopez and Lesli Brown

Jane & Brian Mormile

Filet Mignon Celeriac and Mushroom Puree with Heirloom Carrots, Orange Demi Glaze

Fred and Bon Shapiro

Chris Pederson and Terri Buoniconti

Co-Chair Swanee DiMare

Frances Sevilla Sacasa, Danet Linares, Evelyn Greer and Commissioner Danielle Cava

Raphael Bastian and James Boink

Christie Hefner and Rick Salvadore

Sarah Flotte and Dipak Patel

Julio Frenk and Felicia Knaul

Carol Surowiec, Eugenia Legorburu, Andreina Kissane, guest, Sarah Egan, Bronwyn Miller, Nicole Lozano and Pearl Baker Katz

Lou & Mary Risi

Trish & Dan Bell

Richard & Collen Fain

Carola Pimental and guest