2nd Annual Celebration of Science: The Power of Light
Phillip and Patricia Frost Museum of Science celebrates its one year anniversary
Frank Steslow, Cesar Alvarez, Mayor Carlos Gimenez, Patricia Frost and Dr. Phillip Frost

The Phillip and Patricia Frost Museum of Science and its Board of Trustees celebrated its 2nd Annual Celebration of Science: The Power of Light presented by The Miller Family Foundation on Saturday, May 5, 2018, supporting the museum's exhibitions and learning programs. The fundraiser commemorated the one-year anniversary of South Florida's only planetarium, aquarium and science museum.

This year's gala theme, The Power of Light, was brought to life through a highly-curated evening that included musical entertainment, live animal encounters, culinary delights, dazzling displays of science and mind-bending illusions and activations around the museum. The festivities began in the museum's Baptist Health South Florida Gallery with a VIP pre-party, featuring music by the Frost School of Music and performances by Les Ailes du Desir. The evening also paid tribute to Miami-Dade County Mayor Carlos A. Gimenez who was presented with the 2018 Visionary Award. The award recognizes and celebrates a commitment to the community through visionary leadership that enhances scientific, technological and educational excellence.

The evening continued with creative tastings prepared by STARR Catering Group, the museum's exclusive catering partner, and specialty libations presented by Castle Brands, Gosling's Rum, Tito's Vodka and Stella Artois. Guests were wowed as they explored the multilevel science museum, aquarium and Frost Planetarium, with animal encounters and light-focused science demonstrations and hands-on interactions developed by the museum's Learning department. Special programming by Moonlighter Makerspace took place throughout the night, along with custom laser shows in the Frost Planetarium. During the Laser Lounge after party, guests danced the night away in the Hsiao Family Special Exhibition Gallery in a unique laser setting produced by LaserNet Studios with tunes by DJ Mau.

The 2nd Annual Celebration of Science was made possible by the following donors and supporters: The Miller Family Foundation; Cesar L. and Cristina Alvarez / Greenberg Traurig LLP; George and Lydia Weiss; Castle Brands; HEICO and The Mendelson Family; J.P. Morgan Private Bank; Jacqueline Simkin; Ladenburg Thalmann Financial Services Inc.; Morvillo Abramowitz Grand Iason & Anello PC; Northern Trust; OPKO Health, Inc.; Oti Roberts / Deutsche Bank; Paul and Swanee DiMare; Richard and Susan Lampen; Vector Group Ltd.; Brightline; Florida Power and Light Company; Park One of Florida.

Susan Lampen, Richard Lampen, Cesar Alvarez,
Cristina Alvarez and Frank Steslow

Paul J. and Swanee DiMare

Juliana Benedini, Commissioner Ken Russell, State Rep. David Richardson and Atiosis Blanco

UM President Julio Frenk, Dr. Felicia Knaul, Leslie Miller Saiontz and Alan Heldman

Stewart Miller and Loreley Perez

Richard C. Pfenniger Jr. and Gemma Rosello

Jeffrey and Martine Russell

Commissioner Jean and
Kettia Monestime

Patricia and Dr. Phillip Frost

Kim Miller and Edward Marquez

Eric and Kim Mendelson and
Tatsiana and Andy Ansin

Robin and Heidi Bogle, Christina Beltran
and Jeffrey Miller

Sam Gill and Maira Reimao

Walter Miller and Betty Brandt

Steve Frank and Michelle Carlson

Lourdes Gimenez, Leslie Miller Saiontz
and Swanee DiMare

Carlos and Carmen Sabater and
Maitê and Alex Adams

Oti and Remi Roberts

Carol Henderson and
Martha Wichert

Josh Salman and Laurie Jennings

Sara and Ugo Colombo

Candela Ferro

Jennifer and Gabriel Montoya