Winter Wonderful
Benenfiting the Phillip and Patricia Frost School of Music of the University of Miami
Frost School of Music Dean Shelton G. Berg and Julia Berg; Dorothy Collins Weaver and David R. Weaver, 2013 Frost Legacy Award Honorees

Dr. Michael and Lynda Gordon

The Phillip and Patricia Frost School of Music of the University of Miami welcomed over 400 guests to their annual gala holiday dinner Winter Wonderful at the J.W. Marriott Marquis Miami. Event proceeds directly benefit music scholarships at Frost and its community music mentoring program, Frost MusicReach.

Highlights of the Winter Wonderful evening included a sparkling cocktail reception with a jazz quartet and Christmas carolers, a sumptuous three-course holiday dinner with joyous musical performances by hundreds of youthful voices and instrumentalists from the Frost School of Music, and holiday carols from around the globe. The event concluded with peaceful singing by candlelight.

During the festivities, Frost School’s Dean Shelton G. Berg presented the 2013 Frost Legacy Award to Dorothy Collins Weaver and David R. Weaver, in honor of their inspiring support of the Frost School of Music and the community at large. Frost MusicReach mentors also paired with their young students to perform several holiday duets to the delight of all in attendance.

Gala sponsors included Diamond Circle patrons Lynda and Michael Gordon; Platinum Circle Donors Romero Britto, Cobb Family Foundation, Dr. and Mrs. Phillip T. George, Patti and Allan Herbert, Ladenburg Thalmann Financial Services, Inc., Robert and Judi Prokop Newman, and the Osiason Educational Foundation; and Gold Circle Donor Mario Capone, Sergio M. Gonzalez, JP Morgan Chase & Co., Drs. Roger and Virginia Medel, UM President Donna E. Shalala and Jim Tillett and Mary Beth Burk.

We invite all ardent patrons of the arts in South Florida to join us at the next Winter Wonderful on December 7, 2014, a holiday gala sure to be glistening with treasured music and new memories. For more information or to order gala tickets or tables online or by telephone, visit, call 305-284-6486 or email

UM Trustee Judi Prokop Newman and Robert Newman

Eugenio Sevilla-Secasa and Frances Sevilla-Secasa; Swanee DiMare and UM Trustee Paul DiMare

Gus and Lilliam Machado; Ambassador Sue Cobb and UM Trustee and Ambassador Chuck Cobb; Christina and Karl Stenstrom

UM Provost Dr. Thomas J. LeBlanc and Anne LeBlanc; Ramona and Aldo Busot

Ellen Fleisher and Friends

UM Trustee Jon Batchelor, Nancy Batchelor,
Jon Batchelor, Jr.

Kelly Montoya

David Wilson, Julia and Shelton Berg

Dr. Thomas Baker, Cindy Dziura, Jim Gillis

Drs. Grace Wang and Steven Pabalan and Friends

Adam and Jackie Malamed

UM Trustee and Chairman Emeritus Marta Weeks Wulf and Karl Wulf

Barbara and Robert Black

Patricia Andreu and Sergio Gonzalez

Winter Wonderful Stage

Trish and Dan Bell

Adelle Neumann

UM Trustee Arva and Robert McCabe

Hazel and Larry Rosen

Holly and Carlos Freyre

Vivian and Raul Murciano

Lynn and Paul Steinfurth

Frost School of Music Choral Performers

Winter Wonderful Candlelight Singing

Winter Wonderful Dinner