Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science Annual Galaxy Gala and Big Bang
Hosted in Support of New Facility in Downtown Miami’s Museum Park
Dr. Phillip and Patricia Frost, Trish and Dan Bell Co-Chairs, Board of Trustees

Jon and Nancy Batchelor, Gala Co-Chairs, and Chris Batchelor

Patricia and Phillip Frost and Gillian Thomas, Museum President and CEO

Nearly 1,000 of Miami’s business, civic, philanthropic and young professional leaders gathered for the Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science’s annual Galaxy Gala and Big Bang. Proceeds from the event support the Museum’s new state of the art facility now under construction in downtown Miami’s Museum Park. The festivities took place at the JW Marriott Marquis and carried a high-tech winter wonderland theme, giving guests a glimpse of the new technologies incorporated into the new Museum.

Designed by WowFactor, guests experienced a seasonal transformation that began during the cocktail hour in a tropical environment complete with lush greenery and palm trees before being whisked away to a winter wonderland featuring blue mood lighting, LED icicle chandeliers, LED DJ booth, falling snow flakes, and cherry blossom branch centerpieces. Arctic animals came to life in the form of augmented reality, making virtual appearances on-screen above the dance floor, adding interactive elements thoroughly engaging and entertaining guests.

Hosted by WPLG Channel 10 reporter Laurie Jennings, the program included a keynote video produced and sponsored by Multivision Video and several award presentations to honor key supporters of the Museum including: The first Corporate Philanthropy Award presented by JP Morgan Chase to Alexander King, a participant from the Museum’s Upward Bound Program which helps first-generation college bound students be prepared for postsecondary study, and to graduate college with a bachelor’s degree in science, math and technology fields.

This year’s Galaxy Gala Committee was co-chaired by Nancy Batchelor and Nicole Lozano; The Honorary Chair was the Batchelor Foundation; the Gala’s Philanthropic Chairs were Trish and Dan Bell, and Host Chairs were Alicia Cervera Lamadrid and Alberto Lamadrid. The Big Bang afterparty was presented by the Museum’s Young Patrons. Gold sponsors of the Gala included The Astor Companies, The Claudia and Steven Perles Family Foundation and The John S. and James L. Knight Foundation. Major Event Underwriters included Bacardi, Neiman Marcus, JW Marriott Marquis and Southern Wine & Spirits. Official media sponsors of the Galaxy Gala and Big Bang were MIAMI magazine, Selecta (Spanish language) and WPBT2.

The Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science Award was given to Mitchell Less; The Vanguard Award to Paula and Bob Brockway from Mercedes-Benz of Coral Gables and Mercedes-Benz of Cutler Bay; and The Visionary award was presented to Miami-Dade County Mayor Carlos Gimenez, on behalf of the citizens of Miami-Dade County.

For more information about the Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science, visit or call (305) 646-4224.

Edgar and Nicole Lozano, Gala Co-Chairs, Dan and Trish Bell Co-Chairs, Board of Trustees, Nancy and Jon Batchelor, Gala Co-Chairs

Alicia Cervera Lamadrid and Alberto Lamadrid, 2014 Gala Host Chairs

Dan and Trish Bell, Nancy and Jon Batchelor, Alicia Cervera Lamadrid and Alberto Lamadrid, Nicole and Edgar Lozano, Patricia and Phillip Frost

Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science Board of Trustees

Joseph Falk and special out-of-this world guest

Jorge Luis Lopez and Marile Lopez, Swanee DiMare, Venus Orbit Honorary Chair & Trustee, Paul DiMare, Trustee, Marina and Emilio Alonso Mendoza

Paula and Bob Brockway, 2014 Vanguard Award Recipients and Venus Orbit Corporate Sponsor

Emily and Mitch Less, Trustee and 2014 Museum Award Recipient

David Bianchi and Julia Rea Bianchi, Venus Orbit Chair and Trustee

Tony Baumer, JP Morgan, Alexander King, a participant from the Museum’s Upward Bound Program, Gillian Thomas, Museum President and CEO

Raquel Regalado, Miami-Dade County School Board Member, Tomás Regalado, City of Miami Mayor, Trish Bell, Co-Chair Board of Trustees

Ballroom Décor

Claudia Perles, Dr. Eldredge Bermingham, Museum Chief Science Officer, Chimene Longwater, Steven Perles

Commissioner Marc Sarnoff, Teresa Sarnoff, Jeannett Slesnick, Venus Orbit Captain, Don Slesnick

Carlos Gimenez, Miami-Dade Mayor, Lourdes Gimenez, Maria Carvalho, Alberto Carvalho, MDCPS Superintendent

Ramona and Aldo Busot, Trustee, Carmen and Alfonso Albaciti

Irene Korge, Lizette Martino Diaz, Bronwyn Miller, Lana DeSimone

Marissa Leichter, Tori Anderson, Young Patrons Executive Committee, Caressa Lanier, Young Patrons Executive Committee, Estrellita Sibila, Thamiah Tutt, Young Patrons Executive Committee

Lesley Visser and Brenda Castellano

Trish and Dan Bell Co-Chairs, Board of Trustees

Amy Betancur and Marci Moss

Trish Bell, Co-Chair and Paul J. DiMare, Trustee

Lilliam and Gus Machado

Marty Davis, Phillis Oeters, Renee and Rick Kuci

Dan Bell Co-Chair Board of Trustees, Laurie Jenning, Josh Salman

Jorge and Maggie Villacampa, Murphy, Bunny Bastian, Jon Batchelor

Pamela Garrison, Venus Orbit Member, Kirk Landon, Donna Shalala, University of Miami President

Ali Lamadrid, Young Patrons Executive Committee, Samantha Ryan, Jami Baker

Soyona Rafatjah and Matthew Martinez Huron