Paint the Town RED
A gala benefiting City Year Miami
Superintendent Alberto Carvalho delivering keynote address

City Year Miami's Executive Director Saif Y. Ishoof, DJ Irie, and Founding Board Chair Brad Meltzer

City Year Miami – an education-focused nonprofit dedicated to ending the dropout crisis – held its sixth annual “Paint the Town RED” Gala at the JW Marriott Marquis. The star-studded event united over 700 of South Florida’s most influential business leaders, elected officials, and community philanthropists.

The evening’s program paid homage to the 212 young men and women who make up City Year Miami’s AmeriCorps Members– a diverse group of full-time, trained volunteers (ages 17-24) who have dedicated a year of their lives to serve as tutors, mentors, and role models to at-risk students in Miami-Dade County. The highlight of the night’s program was a touching and personal testimony from Miami Jackson Senior High student, Ronald Flores. "City Year left an imprint in my life personally and professionally. Thank you for showing me the light at the end of the road and being with me along the journey."- Ronald Flores

The lively entertainment included a silent auction, dinner and dancing, and a show-stopping performance from internationally acclaimed recording artist, Flo Rida – courtesy of Power96 and Atlantic Records.

Thank you to the events Chairs, Patricia Castellanos-Cornish & Tom Cornish, Co-Chairs, Ana Mari Ortega and Patty Wollberg, and committee members, along with the incredible sponsors: Bain Capital, Sazon Goya, Lovett-Woodsum Foundation, Akerman LLP, Florida East Coast Industries, Career Source South Florida, Activate Group Inc., Atlantic Records, BankUnited, Baptist Health South Florida, Beacon Council, Blanca Commercial Real Estate, Brad & Cori Meltzer Charitable Trust, Chowdhury Family Foundation, Inc., Comcast | NBC6 | Telemundo 51, CSX Transportation, Deloitte, Greenberg Traurig, Miami Dolphins, Miami Heat Charitable Fund, Morgan Stanley, Patricia Castellanos-Cornish & Tom Cornish, Power96, Premium Latin Music, Shutts & Bowen LLP, The Miami Herald, The Related Group Mario Murgado & Brickell Motors, Carlos and Melissa Dominguez, FIU, GL Homes, Greenspoon Marder, Investors Trust, Marile & Jorge Luis Lopez, Esq. (Listed), Marsh and McLennan, Pearson, Rene A. Rodriguez and Rosy Morales, T&G Constructors, USI Insurance Services, Bacardi USA, Stinghouse, FastSigns, Kevin Luna Photography

City Year Miami's Paint the Town Red at the JW Marriot Marquis produced by WOW Factor Marketing Group

AmeriCorps Members with Marc Schwarzberg, Gala Co-Chairs Ana Mari Ortega, Patty Wollberg, Ana Ortega, Pepe Ortega, Karina and Pepe Ortega

AmeriCorps Members with Saif Y. Ishoof, Gala Chair Patricia Castellanos-Cornish, DJ Irie, Anand Chowdhury and Gala Chair Tom Cornish

Internationally Acclaimed Artist Flo Rida

Paint the Town Red Gala Chairs Patricia Castellanos-Cornish & Tom Cornish with City Year Miami AmeriCorps Members

Javier Juncadella, City Year Miami Board Chair Tere Blanca and AmeriCorps Members

Senator and Board Member Dwight Bullard with guest and AmeriCorps Members

Miami-Dade County Public Schools Superintendent Alberto Carvalho & wife, Maria Carvalho

Gala Committee Member Paola Carillo-Garcia, Miami Blogger Kelly Saks with guests

Gala Chairs Patricia Castellanos-Cornish, Mario Murgado and Tom Cornish with Said Ishoof and AmeriCorps Members

Rudy & Lydia Prio-Touzet

Premium Latin Music Artist Johnny Sky and guest

DJ Irie with City Year Miami's Senior Corps Members

Guests enjoying Flo Rida's performance

Guests enjoying the party!

City Year Miami Board Member Howard Shore & wife, Sylvia Shore, with AmeriCorps Members

Platinum Sponsor Alexandra Lovett-Woodsum with guests and City Year Miami AmeriCorps Members

Cat Keen of Volunteer Florida and City Year Miami AmeriCorps Members

Board Member Ivette Arango O'Deski, Beacon Council President Larry Williams and AmeriCorps Members

Silver Sponsors Baptist Health South Florida's Marsha Tejeda, School Board Member Larry Feldman, Avis and Amy Feldman with AmeriCorps Members

Gala Committee Member & Table Sponsors Maya Tzur, Aviv Tzur and Jane Tzur with City Year Miami AmeriCorps Members

Steve Weisman, Mayor of Aventura Enid Weisman with AmeriCorps Members

Ana & Tony Figueroa-Cisneros with City Year Miami AmeriCorps Members

Edward & Christina Joyce of Northern Trust

Gina Cabrera and Josh Margolis with City Year Miami AmeriCorps Members

City Year Miami AmeriCorps Members

Jorge Luis Lopez, Esq., Marile Lopez, Gala ChairTom Cornish, guest and Gala Committee Member Lucy Nunez

City Year Miami's Executive Director Saif Ishoof, National Gala Sponsor Heidi Flood of BainCapital and DJ Irie with AmeriCorps Members

Celebratory Selfie