Baptist Health Foundation Honors Shining Stars of Philanthropy
William W. Wilson, Baptist Health Foundation Board chair, and Brian E. Keeley, president and CEO of Baptist Health, present Robert Gintel with the Chairman’s Circle award.

Joseph and Leslie Buchanan. Leslie Buchanan, a trustee of the Dunspaugh-Dalton Foundation, Inc, accepted the President’s Circle award on behalf of the Foundation

Amid shimmering spotlights and photographers’ flashes, Baptist Health Foundation rolled out the red carpet to welcome and celebrate its most philanthropic supporters at the Annual Celebration of Generosity.

“We can never thank our generous donors enough,” said Baptist Health Foundation CEO Bill Banchs, Ph.D. “Their generosity is a most welcome endorsement and validation of Baptist’s relentless pursuit of excellence in healthcare. This event is Baptist’s tangible way of expressing its sincere gratitude for their generous support.”

The annual event, held at South Miami-Dade Cultural Arts Center, also provided the Foundation the opportunity to congratulate and thank donors for reaching new or higher levels of giving. “Every year, more individuals and families commit to making a difference in South Florida by supporting our work. Our 2014 donor classes genuinely exemplify the Baptist Health tradition of caring,” said William Wilson, Foundation Board chairman.

A special reception in the Cultural Arts Center’s lobby kicked off the evening, followed by an awards ceremony in the theater. Brian E. Keeley, president and CEO of Baptist Health, joined Banchs and Wilson in addressing the crowd. CBS4 news anchor Rick Folbaum – a foreign correspondent, writer and producer – served as the evening’s emcee. Acclaimed vocalist and recording artist Nicole Henry, winner of the 2013 Soul Train Award for “Best Traditional Jazz Performance,” and Dr. Ed Calle, one of the most-recorded saxophonists in history, captivated the audience as they shared their passion for Baptist Health and philanthropy while performing several soulful favorites.

The evening’s presenting sponsor was Sheridan Healthcare. Additional sponsors were Aberdeen Asset Management; Bliss & Nyitray, Inc.; Brandes Investment Partners, L.P.; C.S. McKee, L.P.; Columbia Management; Kennedy Capital Management, Inc.; Medley LLC; OFI Global Asset Management; Sage Advisory Services, Ltd. Co.; Segall, Bryant & Hamill; Seix Investment Advisors LLC; Wedgewood Partners, Inc.; and Wells Capital Management.

Funds raised by the Foundation support projects and programs at all Baptist Health hospitals, facilities and centers of excellence. If you would like more information about contributing to Baptist Health Foundation, contact Karl Cetta, assistant vice president of development, Baptist Health Foundation, at 786-467-5405, or email

Roberta and Bill Stokes receive Arthur Vining Davis Club award.

President’s Circle member Sherry Kranys, with Lindsay Trax.

Founders Society member Rick Wieder, with his daughter Maddy Wieder, and President’s Circle members Karel and George Foti.

President’s Circle member Gloria Vasta Lewis.

New Tower Club members Betty Anne and I.E. Schilling.

Bill Tillett, Miami Cancer Institute Campaign Cabinet co-chair; Bill Banchs, CEO of Baptist Health Foundation; Founders Society member Lois Russell; and Rudy Kranys, Miami Cancer Institute Campaign Cabinet co-chair.

New Tower Club members Teresita and Juan Michelena, with Natalia Ferrer, director of development, Baptist Health Foundation, and Sean Kramer, assistant vice president, Baptist Health Foundation.

Jorge and Katrina Saladrigas accept an award on behalf of Jorge’s parents, new Tower Club members Olga and Carlos Saladrigas.

Dianne and Randy Kirkland. Mr. Kirkland accepted the event sponsor plaque on behalf of Kennedy Capital Management.

Christopher M. Kraus, vice president and chief operating officer, Baptist Health Foundation, with Arthur Vining Davis Club members Irma Hellenkamp, Brigitta Hellenkamp-Sherin and Richard Sherin, and entertainer Nicole Henry (center).

Myra and Paul Zilio. Mr. Zilio accepted the event sponsor plaque on behalf of Bliss & Nyitray.

Andrew Gotschall and Jay Fraser accepted the Century Club award on behalf of Turner Construction.

Dr. Ghassan Haddad, representing new Century Club member South Miami Criticare, and Zenia Haddad, with new Century Club member Wayne Brackin, executive vice president and chief operating officer, Baptist Health.

New Century Club members John Sorgie and Ann Goodrich.

New Century Club members Patricia Stanley and John Esslinger.

Noga Berman and Georgette Brown accepting the Century Club award on behalf of VITAS Healthcare.

Century Club members Trish and Dan Bell.

Diane and Jim Lupino and Nancy and Jay Hirshoff, accepted the Pillar award on behalf of Hershoff, Lupino and Yagel, LLP.

Mirtha and Dr. Jose Davila. Dr. Davila accepted the Pillar award on behalf of Doctors Anesthesia Associates.

Eddie and Randi Cutillas. Mr. Cutillas received the Pillar award on behalf of Bacardi-Martini USA, Inc.

Tower Club members Fred Newcomb and Norma Ryder.

Century Club members Susan and Larry Kahn.

Founders Society members Joseph and Sofia Weston.

Dr. Francisco and Eva Medina. Dr. Medina received the Pillar award on behalf of Pediatric Emergency Network, Inc.

Scott Von Stein and Noel Guillama received a sponsor plaque on behalf of event sponsor Medley LLC.

Adria and Jay Fraioli with Laura Denoux, director of development, Baptist Health Foundation. Mr. Fraioli received the Benefactor award on behalf of Media Counselors.

Dr. Ronald and Isabella Goerss. Dr. Goerss received the Fellow award on behalf of Pathology Associates of South Miami.

Wendy Reilly Gentes, development officer, Mariners Hospital Foundation; and Rick Freeburg, CEO, Mariners Hospital; hug Danielle Hill, who received a Benefactor award on behalf of Shell World.