American Cancer Society’s Miami Gala 2014
Event chairs Felipe and Lourdes Valls

Honorees Remedios and Fausto Diaz-Oliver

The glamorous model Naty Abascal was the Goodwill International Chair of the American Cancer Society’s Miami Gala 2014 which was held this Saturday April 5th at the JW Marriott Marquis under the theme Le Bal De Bijoux. More than eight-hundred influential leaders within Miami’s social and corporate communities gathered for a night of elegance, exquisite food, and live entertainment to support the fight against cancer.

This magnificent event was presented by South Florida Ford Dealers Association and its purpose wasn’t only to raise much needed funds to support the American Cancer Society’s free services to cancer patients in the community and already established programs and research studies to stop this disease; but it also honored the philanthropic work of Remedios & Fausto Diaz-Oliver, loyal volunteers of the Organization and huge Community Leaders in Miami.

“This year our event is going back in time to the successful Gala that we celebrated 30 years ago under the same theme. That year Joan Collins & Sarita Montiel participated of our event. This year we’ve achieved a highly memorable night with our special guest Naty Abascal, our MC Lilly Estefan & Eugene Ramírez, the tribute to Remedios & Fausto Díaz-Oliver, the breathtaking décor by WOW Factor and the great night that we prepared for all our attendees.” said Lourdes Valls, Gala Chair 2014.

Chairpersons for this year’s gala fundraiser were Lourdes and Felipe Valls and it was also Co-Chaired by Lilliam and Gus Machado and Silvia Rios Fortun and Rigo Lesteiro. Madeleine and Pedro Munilla served as Honorary Chairs.

Some of the Key Sponsors were: South Florida Ford, All American Containers, Munilla Family Foundation, Ortega Foundation, Versailles Cuban Restaurant, Diario Las Américas, Cantera & Associates, Carlos Centurión, Greenberg Traurig, Mira TV, Gus Machado Family Foundation, León Medical Centers, María and Pepe Sánchez, Silvia Ríos Fortún & Rigo Lesteiro, among much others that supported this event in order to actively join the fight against cancer in the Nation.

At this Gala the attendees enjoyed a Red Carpet, Cocktail, Silent and Live Auction, Exquisite Dinner and also danced to the music of The Chase Band. “This is one of the most important philanthropic events in all Miami, thanks to the Support of all the community we raised more than $750,000 that will go directly to support the mission of the American Cancer Society. Its mission is to eliminate cancer as a major health problem by preventing cancer, saving lives and diminishing suffering from cancer through research, education, advocacy and service.” added Lillian Machado, Gala Co-Chair 2014.

For more information on how to support the American Cancer Society or how to become a volunteer please call Karla Pascua, Sr. Specialist, Distinguished Events to 305-779-2879 or

Event co-chairs Lilliam and Gus Machado

Event co-chairs Silvia Rios Fortun and Rigo Lesteiro

Honorary chairs Madeleine and Pedro Munilla

Marile and Jorge Luis Lopez

Maria and Pepe Sanchez

Lili Estefan and Naty Abascal

Alicia and Ramiro Ortiz

Sylvia and Justo Pozo

The Valls family

Pamela and Cesar Conde

Jorge and Jackie Munilla

Laura and Juan Munilla

Lourdes Valls, Maria Zenoz, Remedios Diaz-Oliver

Christy and David Martin

Le Bal De Bijoux was the theme at the JW Marriott Marquis

Marc Schwarzberg, Ana Ortega Schwarzberg, Victoria Franco, Xavier Franco

Ana and Pepe Ortega

Lili Estefan and Lourdes Valls

Hon. Lincoln Diaz-Balart, Hon. Katherine Fernandez Rundle, Lilliam and Gus Machado, and Tony Argiz

Richard Amundsen and Claudia Puig

Arturo and Ana Hernandez, Marile and Jorge Luis Lopez

Ana Quincoces and Marcos Jimenez

Pamela Silva Conde, Desi Valls and Luly Valls

Gus and Lilliam Machado, Maria and Don Brown

Nicolle Valls and Luly Valls

Pedro M. Munilla, Kyla Salles, Pedro Munilla, Madeleine Munilla, Daniel Munilla, Angie Halley and Alex Munilla

Tarik Hawatmeh, Mercedes Herrera, Luz M. Pinton, Dr. Ziad Hawatmeh

Rigo Lesteiro, Naty Abascal and Silvia Rios Fortun