Home  ·   Miami Events   ·   Miami Art Events   ·   Miami Charity Blog   ·   Miami Events Blog   ·   Foodie Find Blog 
SocialMiami.com SocialMiami.com


Arts & Culture
Miami Charity Gala Guide

SocialMiami Guides

Young Professionals
Schools & Universities
Galleries & Art Centers
Museums & Gardens
Spas & Health Clubs
Theatre & Opera
Business Affiliates

Who’s Been Where?
SocialMiami's Faces & Places
See Faces & Places!

Calendar Upcoming Events Events of the Week Art Events Videos
Alzheimer’s Care Committee/NOTABLES Host 24th Annual Black Tie Gala

Gala Chairs Carole Wien Langer & Marshall Langer, NOTABLES Founder and Chairman Bella Goldstein, Dinner Chairs Lila & Harold (seated) Menowitz, NOTABLES President Mickey W. Dworkin

Honorees BlueCross BlueShield of Florida: Sr. Vice President Public Affairs Cyrus Jollivette, Sr. Manager Market Development S. Florida (not pictured); Martha de la Peña Rojas, Sr. Manager Business Development S. Florida; Douglas Bartel, Market President S. Florida; and Penny Shaffer, Ph.D

Chaired by Marshall and Carole Wien Langer, a who's who of South Florida's philanthropic community gathered for the Alzheimer's Care Committee/NOTABLES of Douglas Gardens' annual black tie gala. This year's event titled Moon over Miami took place in the Starlight Roof Ballroom at the Miami Beach Resort & Spa. The Honorary Gala Chair and Guest Emcee was Channel 4 News Anchor Elliott Rodriguez, a devoted supporter of the NOTABLES and its mission.

Generous gala underwriters included dinner chairs Lila S. and Harold Menowitz, cocktail party chair philanthropist Isabel May, Arlyn and Stephen H. Cypen, who donated in loving memory of Judge Irving Cypen, and Elaine & Neal Slansky of the Slansky Group, Wells Fargo Advisors. Gala co-chairs included Jill and Stanley Arkin, Helen Gaulkin, Shirley Harris and Celia Schwartz.

Guests enjoyed dinner and dancing to the music of Joe Donato and his orchestra and a lavish caviar bar compliments of Marky's Caviar with gala décor by Flowers by Tony, Hallandale.Highlights included the Mercedes-Benz of Miami Raffle, in loving memory of Carolyn Rosen Miller; an exclusive Judith Ripka Designer Boutique; and an extraordinary Silent Auction featuring a 7-day cruise from Holland America Line and special art selections by Romeo Britto.

NOTABLES President Mickey W. Dworkin made a presentation to honoree and Corporate Platinum NOTABLE, BlueCross BlueShield of Florida, recognized for its unwavering support and generosity.The prestigious Louis C. Fischer Award, honoring commitment to Alzheimer's patients and their families, was awarded to Lorraine and Sidney Cooperman. The Lester L. Goldstein Award, sponsored by international designer Leo Koel, recognizing those who have used their considerable powers of influence and philanthropy to benefit the organization's mission, was awarded to Pinki and Allan Wesler.

In 1987, Bella Goldstein and her brother, the late Louis C. Fischer, realized the need for an Alzheimer's care support group. Now there are more than 1,200 NOTABLE members ensuring that "until there's a cure, there's care."

For more information on how to join the NOTABLES organization, please contact Development Officer Ricki Diamond at 305.762.1371 or rdiamond@mjhha.org.

Lester L. Goldstein Award, sponsored by Leo Koel, recipients Pinki & Allan Wesler with NOTABLES Founder and Chairman Bella Goldstein (center)

Cocktail Party Chair Isabel May & NOTABLES Vice President Hildine Potashnick

Arlyn & MJHS Chairman of the Board Stephen H. Cypen, Hazel Cypen (seated)

NOTABLES Aventura President Stuart Geller & Mark Bender

NOTABLES Aventura Vice President Hon. Billy Joel, Sunny Isles Vice Mayor Lewis Thaler, former Bay Harbor Islands Mayor Linda Zilber, Miss Florida Teresa Wakefield, Sunny Isles Beach Mayor Norman Edelcup, Aventura Commissioner Robert Diamond

Table Sponsors Betty M. Brandt and Martha Mishcon; Co-Chair Shirley Harris; Table Sponsor Josephine Baker

Underwriters The Slansky Group-Wells Fargo Advisors, Jared, Kari, Elaine & Neal Slansky, Jessica & Glenn Sabath

Corporate Sponsors: Holland America Line Bess Guvanier & Vanessa Cohen, Britto Central Denice Cornell, Mercedes-Benz of Miami Delores & Michael Brandeis

Blanche Rosenblatt & Co-Chair Helen Gaulkin

Co-Emcee Lauren Fischer & CBS4 News Anchor, Honorary Gala Chair and Emcee Eliott Rodriguez

Aaron Weinshank & Sheila Elias Taplin

The Louis C. Fischer Award: Jared Coggan, Lauren Fischer, recipients Sidney & Lorraine Cooperman, Bella Goldstein, Jessica & Anne Fischer

Table Sponsors Jerry & Ruthe Cohen, Joan Gale, Sandy & Mitchell Fishman

MJHS: Chief Executive Officer Jeffrey P. Freimark & Hollis Freimark, Chief Development Officer Joy Prevor & Itai Benosh, Mindy & Chief Operating Officer Morris S. Funk, Robin & Director of Mental Health Services Dr. Marc Agronin

Jacqueline Silverman (3rd from right) and guests

Miami Beach Resort & Spa Starlight Roof

Pearl & Sonny Levitt with Anne Fischer

BlueCross BlueShield of Florida: Myra O’Neill, Marisol Slaton, Elaine Shaffer, Penny Shaffer, John O’Neill

Stacey & Mitchell Hipsman with NOTABLES President Mickey W. Dworkin

Gala Chairs Marshall & Carole Wien Langer

Dinner Chairs Harold & Lila Menowitz

Corey & Rose Breier

Sooky & Robert S. Schwartz

Rhoda Stern & Reds Heller

Phyllis Rosen & Philip Frankel

Joyce Dolin Kleinberg

Julia & Philip Sosnick

Carol Fader

Julius Cooper & Seena Reiner

Marilyn & Jerry Kwait

Uri Dowenko & Shelley Silver

Home Promote Events Advertising About Us Contact Us Media Kit