29th Annual National Philanthropy Day Awards Luncheon
Paying tribute to Miami’s philanthropic community since 1985!
Over 500 guests joined event co-chairs Patrick Morris and Barbara Norland as they hosted the 29th annual National Philanthropy Day awards luncheon at Jungle Island. In 1985, the Miami chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals initiated the nation’s first National Philanthropy Day event. Today, more than 50,000 people in 130 countries around the world participate in National Philanthropy Day celebrations. The luncheon pays tribute to Miami’s philanthropic community.

The event garners one of the largest crowds in local philanthropy. Rhiannon Ally, CBS4 news anchor, served as Mistress of Ceremonies and helped honor this year’s award winners: Sonja Zuckerman—Lifetime Achievement Award; Jorge Perez—Outstanding Philanthropist Award; David Lawrence, Jr.—Outstanding Volunteer Award; Darlene Hanes, executive vice president and regional director, accepted the Julia Tuttle Award for Community Involvement and Corporate Citizenship on behalf of Macy’s; Javier Soto, president and CEO, accepted the Outstanding Grant Maker Award on behalf of The Miami Foundation. Sallie Byrd, chapter past president presented the Joyce Galya Scholarship to Leana Cianfoni, assistant director of annual giving at the University of Miami.

The event also featured an insightful video produced by Aaron Glickman of Socialmiami.com with clips from community leaders (representing the nominating organizations) including Senator Paul Steinberg on behalf of Sonja Zuckerman; Thom Collins, director at PAMM on behalf of Jorge Perez; Dr. Pedro J. Greer on behalf of David Lawrence, Jr.; Marilyn March, executive director at The Women’s Fund of Miami-Dade on behalf of Macy’s; and Richard Milstein, Board Member Performing Arts Center Trust on behalf of The Miami Foundation.

Thank you to our top sponsors: The Miami Herald, Comcast, Fernandez Family, The Miami Foundation, and WPBT2; and to our media sponsors: Socialmiami.com, South Florida Business Journal and Miami Magazine.

Please stay tuned for details regarding NPD’s 30th Anniversary in November 2015. For more information about National Philanthropy Day and AFP Miami, please visit www.afpmiami.org.

National Philanthropy Day Honorees Javier Soto on behalf of The Miami Foundation, Jorge Perez, Sonja Zuckerman, Dave Lawrence, Jr. , Darlene Hanes on behalf of Macy’s

Victoria Villalba (Victoria & Associates), Gloria Barbier (AXA Advisors), Alex Villoch (Miami Herald), Lydia Muñoz (BBBS), Kadish Phelps (The Miami Foundation)

National Philanthropy Day co-chairs Barbara Norland and Patrick Morris

Honoree Sonja Zuckerman and daughter Florence Broudy

Honoree Dave Lawrence, Jr., Sister Linda Bevilacqua (Barry University), Past Honorees Dan & Trish Bell

Dr. Alma Kadragic and outgoing AFP Miami President Bentonne Snay

Association of Fundraising Professionals Miami Chapter Board of Directors

Suzanne Riger and Leana Cianfoni (University of Miami)

Florence Broudy, Senator Paul Steinberg, Sonja Zuckerman, Sandy Steinberg

Lexi Lehrman, Richard Lehrman incoming AFP Miami President, Angelica Santibanez

Karelia Martinez Carbonell, Armando Rodriguez AFP Miami Board Members

Charlie Cinnamon, Joy Wallace

Kiko and Judy Baldacci

Peggy Armaly, Daniel Tasciotti, Dorothy St. Jean

Darlene Haynes, Macy's, Barbara Norland, Laurie Zapletal, BB&T