Florida Women of
Achievement Luncheon

Celebrating Florida's Women of Achievement
In 1992 South Florida photographer Scherley Busch founded Florida Women of Achievement to create an awareness of women's accomplishments and contributions and to bring together Florida's ethnic and cultural diversity. She began with a portrait exhibit of eleven outstanding Florida women, including the legendary environmentalist Marjory Stoneman Douglas. Fourteen years and 46 images later, the exhibit continues to grow with powerful portraits of Florida's women pioneers, visionaries and pacesetters. The Village of Merrick Park in Coral Gables hosted the 14th annual Florida Women of Achievement documentary exhibition and luncheon honoring the 2005 inductees. These include well known South Florida philanthropist B. Carlin, three of the world's top physician-scientists in the field of HIV/AIDS, University of Miami Doctors Margaret Fischl, Mary Jo O'Sullivan and Gwendolyn Scott, and entrepreneur and community leader Rosa Sugranes, owner of Iberia Tiles. The honorees, their friends and supporters of FWA enjoyed a champagne reception as they toured the exhibition and lunch and informal modeling at the Villagio Restaurant in Merrick Park's garden level. Sister Jeanne O'Laughlin, a 1994 honoree, serves as honorary chair, and all proceeds benefit Florida Women of Achievement scholarships and programs.

Iran Issa Khan, Jane Abess, Honoree Rosa Sugranes

Maricris Longo and Honoree Katherine Fernandez Rundle

Leona Cooper, Rosa Sugranes, Carrie Meek, Dr. Gwendolyn Scott, B. Carlin, Dr. Margaret Fischl, Roxcy Bolton, Bea I. Hines, Ellen Kempler, Kathy Fernandez Rundle, Scherley Busch, Regina Frazier & Dr. Mary Bunge

Alexandra Villoch, VP of Sales at The Miami Herald, and Isabel Ojeda

Honorees B. Carlin and Sister Jeanne O'Laughlin with Scherley Busch

Norma Jean Ober, Marlene Broad and Honoree Ellen Kempler

Dahlia Morgan

Models from Diane Von Furstenberg

Scherley Busch and Honoree Dr. Mary Bunge

A photographic exhibit by Scherley Busch

JoAnn H. Morgan - The first woman engineer and senior executive at NASA, photographed with the Space Shuttle Atlantis.

Rosa SugraŅes - Avid art collector, Chairman of the Miami-Dade Cultural Affairs Council, founder and Chairman of Iberia Tiles.

Margaret Ann Fischl, M.D., Mary J. O'Sullivan, M.D., Gwendolyn B. Scott, M.D. - UM doctors who are three of the world's top physician/scientists in the field of HIV/AIDS

B. Carlin - Ardent supporter of the performing and visual arts and major contributor to many arts organizations.

Cristina Saralegui - Emmy award-winner for the Spanish language talk show "Cristina," editor of "Cristina la Revista," and star of radio's "Cristina Opina."

Gloria Estefan - International superstar and Grammy award-winning recording artist who is deeply committed to pediatric AIDS.

Marjory Stoneman Douglas - Pioneer, environmental advocate, lifelong crusader to save the Everglades, and author of "The River of Grass."



| Back to index page |

2004 © copyright. All right reserved. Social Domains, Inc.
powered by:
Telephone: 305.981.0101
Fax: 305.981.0010
Contact us via email